Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 10, 2009, 6:08 AM   #1

Default Confused. Need expert help.

Hi. I'm just a novice photographer and the only camera I've used is point and shoot. I've been reading some reviews but I don't understand some of the photography terminologies or techniques.
I have a Canon A570 and I would like an to upgrade my current camera with new and updated features that newer once are offering. I would be mostly shooting indoors and activities of my baby so I prefer an HD with wide angled lenses. I would also prefer a camera that doesn't use AA batteries. Of course image quality is the most important. An automated one with the image stabilization plus other automatic features would be nice. Below is a summary of what I need.

Budget From $250-$380.

Size

I prefer an ultra compact. Actually I'm not so sure of the difference in the compact and ultra compact, but it seems the models that I have been picking are in the ultra compact category.

Features

The pictures I will be printing would most likely not be bigger than 8 inches. I heard that even my current 7MP should suffice. I see though that the newer compact cameras are usually going 10 to 14MP.

I currently have a Powershot A570 which has 4x optical zoom. I was hoping to have an upgrade to 5x optical zoom. I also find it interesting that there are compact cameras with 10 to 12x optical zoom. Is it true that compact cams with ultrazoom lens are no good with low light?

It will be used as a family camera. We have a baby so it would be good to capture her milestones and developements. It will also be used for travelling, so it will be an all around cameral. Most of the shoots will be taken indoors so I think the camera should be good with low light. I would also prefer one with HD recordings to capture some movie clips of our baby.

Regarding the term low light. I always encounter this on reviews. Does it mean indoor lighting or night shots?