Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 11, 2009, 5:12 PM   #1

Default Help me decide

Hey all,

Soo i am in the market for a new camera. I have always owned crappy/semi decent point and shots but now want to upgrade to a proper DSLR. Ill have taking a photography class this coming semester and would like to purchase something i can use for the next couple years. I am a beginner so my purchase will reflect that. I don't think its wise for me to spend too much, 1000+

I have used a few DSLRs. My brother has a D90, my cousin (who is on this board, Dreamps) had a Cannon XTI, and my other cousin has an EOS T1i 500d. I have used all three of these and love them all. So now what it comes down to is price and what's the most i can get out of that price.

I love cars thus the user name lol, so majority of my money gets spent there. I am a strong believer in "You get what you pay for" and i know this will be a long term investment so to speak. I would prefer to keep the cost below $800 but if i can spend a little more and get a lot for my money i will do so.

Here are some things i have seen.

This basic T1i/500d

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16830120355

$750

Then on ebay i have seen bundle packs like this

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...t_17955wt_1095

for $1100 but i get a whole lot in return (back pack etc etc)

then i found this the Rebel XS/1000d

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboD...t=Combo.293494

for $550 i get the camera body plus standard lens and telephoto lens.

Any suggestion tip or any information is welcomed. Like i said i am a beginner when it comes to photography, so what ever you know share it with me

TIA

-Imran
Moreboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 11, 2009, 5:17 PM   #2

What do you want to take photos of?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2009, 5:19 PM   #3
Super Moderator