Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 21, 2009, 10:43 AM   #1

Default Sony A230 or Nikon D3000

I can get a Nikon D3000 with 18-55mm lens, case, warranty and memory card for 700$
or
Sony A230 with 18-55mm & 75-300mm Lens Package for 600$

Im new to DSLR, i just want something to take pictures of my family, friends, and sometimes sports. The easier the use the better, for my Nikon I would want to upgrade to a larger lens as well. Thanks for your help!
samar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 21, 2009, 11:21 AM   #2

samar-

I went through the same decision. I finally got the Sony A-230 with the Sony 18-55mm kit lens and the Sony 55-200mm lens. I am very happy with my decision. The camera is very easy to use and it has great image quality.

I handled both cameras and did test shots with both camera. In the end the A-230 felt the most comfortable.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 11:50 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by samar View Post
I can get a Nikon D3000 with 18-55mm lens, case, warranty and memory card for 700$
or
Sony A230 with 18-55mm & 75-300mm Lens Package for 600$

Im new to DSLR, i just want something to take pictures of my family, friends, and sometimes sports. The easier the use the better, for my Nikon I would want to upgrade to a larger lens as well. Thanks for your help!
The Sony 75-300 isn't a very good lens. It is soft, has a lot of chromatic aberration at the long end, and is slow to focus. It's not a good choice for shooting sports.

That is not to say that the Sony A230 is a bad choice, just the Sony 75-300. Both Sony and Nikon have excellent lenses for shooting outdoor sports, but they're expensive. There's an inexpensive alternative in the Tamron 70-300 Di LD (~$170) (not as good as thier best, but better than their comparably priced alternatives), but it's available for both Sony and Nikon, so that doens't help with your decision.