Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 29, 2009, 11:44 AM   #1

Default Powershot SX20 vs Lumix FZ35

I have heard from others that the FZ35 works better at higher ISO settings. Would this make the lumix better than the canon even though it is a little less zoom and the video codec is not as good as the canon. The canon has a hotshoe feature and records stereo video. The canon has the LCD screen that moves and uses AA batteries. Do all of these features combined make the canon better or is the quality difference in the ISO of the lumix enough to sway the purchase of it. I am not an expert and need help deciding which one to buy.
linkinyeah is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 29, 2009, 1:01 PM   #2

linkinyeah-

Welcome to the Forum. We are glad you dropped by.

If it were my choice, I would select the Panasonic FZ-35 without hesitation. Why you might ask? The FZ-35 can produce far better image quality at numerically higher ISO settings, topping out at ISO 800. In contrast, the SX-20 has that hot shoe for a reason, it is ISO limited, after ISO 200, the noise becomes very visible as you move upward on the ISO scale. The FZ-35 uses a proprietary battery. AA Batteries are problematic and self discharge quickly. The vidio on the FZ-35 is also stereo. The codex is easily changed with software. Both camers take wonderful photos outdoors.

In the end, it is a personal choice, based mostly on the kind of photos that you take.

Have a great day.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2009, 5:25 PM   #3

The fz35 uses mpeg4 just like the canon for HD video as well as AVCHD lite
anthony_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2010, 6:57 PM   #4