Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 3, 2009, 2:18 PM   #1

Default Cheap DSLRs: Sony A200 vs Nikon D40 vs Canon XT

After years using and old Canon G Powershot-line camera, I'm ready to upgrade. I have some experience with DSLRs, and I am ready to enter the field of DSLR photography. A nice enough point and shoot would be about the same as one of these anyway.

I've narrowed it down to the XT, D40, and A200. Obviously my budget is very limited, so I'm buying an older camera used to keep within it. I know they're not cutting edge, but they're all I can afford at the moment. I would take other suggestions though.
From my perspective, the A200 would be the best. But there strong arguments for the others from what I've seen. (I don't care about megs) So I'm asking about a few specifics.
The main types of photography I do are macro and portrait. But I would be doing more nature stuff if I had a longer lens.
Now according to what I do:
Which one is the best overall? Simple question, hardest to answer. WHich lasts longer? Which has best features?
Which has the best kit lens? I know I'll get a better lens eventually, but it still matters. Length doesn't matter, just quality.

Also, I will want to buy a nice all-around lens in a while, so which has the cheapest and best value one? I would want it to be pretty long, at least 200mm, but still take nice portraits and macro. Does such a one exist? (I am new to lenses, so help me). It needs to be pretty cheap, too. I know the A200 can use certain old lenses, but I still need help choosing one. Open to suggestions.
mrpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 3, 2009, 2:32 PM   #2
Administrator

What are you planning on spending for the camera body and lenses for starters? There are some pretty good deals going on right now on new camera kits. For example, I'm seeing the new A230 with a kit lens selling for only $429 at some vendors.