Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 11, 2009, 9:37 PM   #1

Default ? DSLR For wife, looking at Sony a330L

She will be learning and hopefully reading. She knows nothing about photography proper, but is a pretty good point and shooter. This will be here first dslr and also "hopefully" the first owners manual she reads. ANy advice, recomendations, help. I am a point and shooter too, but do use my Sony F828 from time to time, and feel it is an exceptional high end consumer camera.
Wapas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 11, 2009, 10:36 PM   #2

Hi Wapas,

I'm a beginner into the world of manual controls and really am just beginning to educate myself on other camera's, etc. So, the one you've listed, I've no comment on.

However, in trying to learning shooting techniques, etc there's one thing I've learned from this site and others is that it's not the camera that makes a good shot, it's the photographer. And, understanding your camera as well as exposure is key.

Here are some recent sites I've visited which have helped expand my understanding and have been helpful at my level in providing technique advice, etc. If you're wife is interested, it's great to read then to take the camera out and try what you've learned. For me the challenge of getting a good shot always makes bringing out the camera an adventure. It's no longer about just the shot, it's about the composition, the lighting, the background, technique and the subject at hand.

http://www.digital-photography-tips....hy-basics.html

http://digital-photography-school.co...eginners-guide

http://www.easyphotography.info/tips...tal-camera.htm

http://www.picturecorrect.com/tips/p...ps-techniques/