Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 13, 2009, 2:36 PM   #1

Default Superzoom or dSLR for me?

I would appreciate some help from this forum as to which camera to purchase. I am a novice photographer. The only cameras I have used in the past are point and shoots, almost all of which have been Canons. I am looking for a camera that provides better quality photos. I use my HD camcorder quite often. I have become somewhat proficient at changing the settings on a point and shoot and on the camcorder as the need arises. I am interested in learning more about photography, and anticipate purchasing some books on digital photography.

My main subjects are my wife and our 7-year-old and our 5-year old. We like to hike. I like to take pictures with the family in the foreground and mountains, streams, trees, etc. in the background. I will usually take several photos of the scenery. We are looking forward to a southern California vacation this spring, so I want something that I can take with me to Disneyland, etc. I also want to use the camera to take photos of indoor activities like birthday parties, piano recitals, etc.

I have spoken to some people at the local camera shop, but I get different advice. One salesperson, who seems knowledgeable, recommended either the Nikon P90 or the Cannon SX1. He advised that these models were easier to use than a dSLR, and that their size would make them easier to put in a backpack, and to carry on vacation. He indicated that I could use them to learn more about photography, and then purchase a dSLR if I thought I needed an upgrade in a year or two. He showed me some sample photos, and they looked good to me.