Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 14, 2009, 5:11 PM   #1

Default Have older digicams, is it worth upgrading?

I have a Canon A70 (3x optical zoom and 3 megapixels) and a Kodak DX7440 (4x optical, 4 megapixels).

I'm a very casual photographer (think holiday events, neighbor's dogs, and family trips). I also like taking twilight and constellation photos--and also bird pictures through a spotting scope or via remote control.

These are old cameras now and both have developed some LCD issues.

I'm toying with the idea of getting a new camera, and have been captivated by the new features that have come in the past several years (especially image stabilization).

So, I'm wondering if it would be worthwhile to upgrade!

Would there be a qualitative difference in my photos? I'm not a very good photographer and I know that's the weakest link!
astroman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 14, 2009, 7:18 PM   #2

astroman-

That decision is really a personal judgment. However, is very easy to see that most of the new cameras are 10mp or 12mp, which is a big improvement. Camera today also generally have image stabilization which is a valuable feature. However, we are also seeing fewer cameras on the market today that feature optical viewfinders.

So it is your decision.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2009, 7:21 PM   #3
Super Moderator

I would say going from that generation of p&s to the current generation will give you a measurable difference in image quality.
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2009, 8:47 PM   #4

Quote:
... twilight and constellation photos ...
That can be a tricky bit, as many of today's compacts are limited to a 15 sec shutter time, or less. Panasonic is a conspicuous exception, most of their compacts will go 60 sec. But for more serious control you will need a SLR-like ultracompact, which will be over $300 USD.

Kelly Cook