Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 15, 2009, 6:39 AM   #1

Default Need a New Point & Shoot

I am in the market for a new Point & Shoot. I had a Canon A620 that grew legs.

I would like one with a good Optical Zoom, image Stabilization, SD(HC preferably) compatible, something fairly new and current so it may be around on the market for awhile and allow plenty of time for support and user base. Budget is no more than about $300-350 max.

I just need something for birthday parties, School plays, vacations, etc. I'm not a pro by any means and just want a good P&S camera to get the good shots of my family.

Thanks
JohnMcD348 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 15, 2009, 9:39 AM   #2

JohnMcD-

Welcome to the Forum. We're pleased that you dropped by.

It appears that the class of cameras you are interested in are cameras that are referred to as compact zoom cameras. Two of the very best examples in this class of cameras is the Canon SX-120 and the Sony H-20 cameras. The SX-120 is currently selling for around $199.00 and the H-20 is selling for around $249.00.

The Sony H-20 has 10X optical zoom, is the best choice in this class, with the best automatic mode in the class, the best built-in flash unit in the class with a flash range out to 20+feet, in camera to subject distance. It also has HD video and you can zoom while filming.The H-20 is capable of using ISO settings up to, and including, ISO 800 while still maintaining pretty good image quality. When shot at ISO 400 and below, the H-20 produces very good image quality.

The Canon SX-120 has 10X optical zoom, a good built-in flash unit and does normal video. The canon SX-120 is just a bit physically smaller than the Sony H-20 camera.The SX-120 is capable of using ISO settings up to, and including, ISO 800 while still maintaining pretty good image quality. When shot at ISO 400 and below, the SX-120 produces very good image quality.