Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 15, 2009, 9:36 AM   #1

Default Photo noob lookin for advice

Hello all!!

I'm new to the photography game, besides some older point and shoots.

I'm looking to get a new camera for Christmas and am kinda confused on which one i wanna go with. Well, which one I should go with.

Let me start off by telling you what kinda shots I will be taking with the camera.

Of course family photos will be something I will shoot a lot of.
I have to young boys who both wrestle. I would love to get some nice action shots of them during matches. It is not always possible for me to get down close to the mat for good close up pix, so a camera with good zoom and stability control is a must.
I also do radio controlled rock crawling all over the east coast. These events range from indoor and out, to middle of winter in a blizzard to middle of the summer 120+ in the shade. These shots would be a lot of action shots that would require the camera to be in a lot of different angle to get the best shot.

So, with all of my searching and reading I have figured out,....I don't know enough about cameras!! LOL

I have actually kinda narrowed my search down to 2 different cameras which I think would be right up my alley for what I need them for.

The Nikon P90, and the Canon SX20 IS.
Both seem to have great zoom ability as well as the movable screens, which I need for those low shots of the crawlers as well as shooting over a crowd at the wrestling match.

I have also looked at the Nikon L100. Seems like an easier camera to operate but the lack of a view finder and non movable screen pushed me away.

I would also like to stick to a Canon or Nikon, since I hear and see their name alot and know they are good quality cameras. If you know of another top quality camera that would suite my needs please let me know.