Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 15, 2009, 1:17 PM   #1

Default Replacement for Fuji F11: Four Thirds camera?

I have a Fuji F11. Works ok, but has no image stabilization and doesn't do well without flash, but flash is overwhelming when used. Also using the video more, but the video on the Fuji is marginal at best.

Assuming budget of $1000 or so, what I need which I do not have in the Fuji are:
- Image stabilization
- Adjustable flash level
- Good low light photo capability
- High quality video (not necessarily HD), with image stabilization
- Fast speed (both on, and between shots)
- Smaller size, DSLR is too large

I am an amateur. I know how to use SP, AP, EC, and manual mode on my camera, but know nothing about manual focus or interchangeable lenses. Whatever I get MUST have a "full auto" mode for my wife. I will fiddle with the menus, but am unlikely to change lenses, I do not plan to take this to the next level.

Common problems I have are inside the house with marginal light (dinner, pumpkin carving, restaurant, etc). Flash is too bright, no flash is blurry. Last weekend taking Karate pictures, the pictures were either blurry, washed out, or grainy.

I was considering the Olympus EP1 (or the new EP2) 4/3rds cameras simply because it seems the better the camera, the better the software, lens, and better photo taking capabilities, even if I do not ever use them all. If I am wrong, please steer me right, maybe a good quality P+S is more what I need. Please tell me what you may suggest.

I have no problems currently with outdoors, action, color fringing, image size, or minimal (3x now) zoom.

Edit: Added smaller size as requirement. DSLR is just too big. I need to put the camera in a belt mounted case for travel.

Last edited by pnut; Dec 15, 2009 at 1:56 PM.
pnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 15, 2009, 1:29 PM   #2

pnut-

Welcome to the Forum. We're pleased that you dropped by.