Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 19, 2009, 8:48 AM   #1

Default Same old question, reasonably prices DSLR

I am a contractor and would like to start taking more/better pics of my work. I have heard that a point and shoot type camera will just not get the pictures I am looking for, thus I am looking for a DSLR.

I would kinda like to stick to Nikon or canon, I do have an old Rebel XS with a cheaper zoom lens, so if canon is the best bet, fine, but I don't think the lenses I have are worth pushing me to canon if that isn't the best bet.

My biggest problem is there are so many new camera's the last few years, I don't even know where to look. The absolute MAX I can pay right now would be about $1000. If I could cut that in half or even less, that would be best, even I have to go used.

So, I need,

very good indoor pics,
wide angle lens capability,
good price,

That's about it really.

Brew
tsbrewers is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 19, 2009, 9:48 AM   #2
Administrator

I'd probably look at the T1i (500D) if budget permits. You can get a kit including the camera body with an 18-55mm lens on it for around $749 now.

That would give you approximately the same angle of view range that you'd have using a 29-88mm lens on a 35mm camera. Because of the smaller APS-C size sensors used in this type of dSLR body, your lenses will appear to be longer (narrower angle of view) for a given focal length lens. Multiply the focal length by 1.6x to see how they compare.

You could also use the lenses you have for your Rebel XS (a.k.a., 3000N if you mean the latest film camera version of it). If you have something like a 28-80mm lens on it, it would behave more like a 45-128mm lens from an angle of view perspective when used on a Canon dSLR model like the T1i (using an APS-C size sensor).