Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 24, 2009, 2:35 AM   #1

Default 1st time dSLR-er

Hi all! I've stumbled upon this site via google, seeing that i was having such a hard time deciding on a camera. I want to move to a dSLR since the point and shoot photography was wearing thin on me. Also, my doctor said to find a new hobby so photography was it.

I've always been fascinated by the amazing pictures that dSLRs are capable of taking but have been intimidated by the multitude of types and models. Anyhow, i would like to take pictures of everything. Seeing that i would be a first timer/beginner, i would like to stay under the $1000 mark...actually the cheaper the better. I know this is a huge constraint but in all honesty, i am new to the field and i don't plan on opening up a studio any time soon. I'm thinking about taking shots of nature, still life, some sports, family get togethers and that kind of stuff...basically the run of the mill ordeal.

I have read previous posts before i actually registered for this site and was a little bit overwhelmed. i barely knew what all the camera lingo meant, but i hope in time i will learn. I read justinY's post about what camera to get and it was quite informative except i've limited myself to 2 brands: Nikon and Cannon. Seeing my girlfriend is getting this for me, she wants to buy it at my favorite store: Best Buy!!

I'm torn between the D3000 and the XS/XSi. Both brands come in under $700 with a package but i really do not know which brand to get. Both names are reputable but i'm leaning towards the D3000 since it has a guide option for noobs like me. But i want more of an input than what CNet has given me.

Any help is considerable help!
Thanks,
Kevin
kdc2487 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 24, 2009, 3:55 AM   #2