Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 10, 2010, 1:45 PM   #1

Default Help! Wanted DSLR now considering otherwise

I am a beginner photographer who has always been interested in photography. I took a class a few years ago and loved it (although I don't remember much. But I am willing to learn again.) I mostly love outdoors shots (I live in Colorado, the PERFECT place for those) and also love animal shots as well, and some action shots. I tend to take a lot of low lighting shots too.

I was considering a DSLR (my cousin has a d40 which takes great pics) but after considering for a while I am thinking I need something smaller. I have a cheap Kodak I use when I go out to parties or other college events (that way if I lose it or mess it up I'm not too sad) but when I want to take a picture of a sunset or the mountains it's really horrible.

I reeeeally wanted the d3000, but I am recently starting to think it may be too bulky for what I need. I leave for Europe in a couple of weeks to study in Spain, and I plan on traveling every weekend. I would love to take my camera along for my adventures.

What I'm looking for now is a compact camera that can have a full manual (or mostly manual) setting. That way, I can start learning about photography terms and how to take the best pictures, rather than just jumping into a DSLR. Is this a good choice? I considered the Nikon Coolpix L100 but I'm glad I came home and did my research because I'm starting to think the only thing it has going for it is the zoom. I'm not sure I need this much zoom (not to mention the added bulk)

A camera with 12x zoom I think would be ideal. I also want manual control over exposure, ISO, and aperture, and whatever else is important, but an auto mode for when I need a quick and easy shot. Any ideas?! Canon SX200 is one I've looked at a little.
julz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 10, 2010, 1:52 PM   #2