Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 11, 2010, 8:33 AM   #1

Default Your thoughts on 5D Mk2 purchase.

Hi All, I feel it's time for me to upgrade, after owning a 20D for about three years. I must say I've loved the 20D and took some great pics with it, but like most of you out there I've longed for a full frame camera. The obvious choice for me is the 5D Mk2, although the HD video facility doesn't excite me much, the high ISO capabilities certainly do. I already have a 24 - 105L and 70 - 200 IS 2.8L lens, so I know they would be a good pairing. The bottom line is, do you think I would be going over the top with this body, when I am just an enthusiastic amateur who takes pics just for fun, and would hardly ever receive any income from my hobby? Would I notice much improvement than if I got a wide efs lens to match the 20D?
Gypsyrico is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 11, 2010, 9:50 AM   #2

The 20d is a fine camera - I shot with one for years. But of course the 5dII is a better camera. The viewfinder and LCD alone will have you jumping for joy. The high ISO performance will be about a 2 stop advantage over what the 20d gives you. Picture quality will be an improvement with the better sensor and digic IV. You'll have better dynamic range. And the advantage for shallow DOF photography.

So, there's no doubt a newer camera will be an improvement. AND you've got some great lenses to pair with the 5dII so you can buy the body only.

The only caveat being - if, for some reason, you were more interested in sports and wildlife - then the 7d would be the better option because of the focus system and FPS. But if sports/wildlife aren't your thing than the 5dII would definitely be a huge upgrade from your 20d.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2010, 12:40 PM   #3
Super Moderator