Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 15, 2010, 1:09 PM   #1

Default First Time DSLR - Pentax K-x, Nikon D5000 or Canon EOS 450D / Digital Rebel XSi

I am a complete DSLR novice. I have been using point and shoot cameras.

I write a weekly column for that appears in the entertainment section of a local Chicago paper and now recently need to also take photos. Typically in clubs where there would low light (I would say stage light but that isn't so, think of performance areas in bars).

I had been thinking about the Fuji S200EXR, but have recently started to also realize that perhaps I should instead consider a DLSR.

The cameras I'm thinking about are:

Pentax X-y
Nikon D5000
Canon EOS 450D/Digital Rebel XSi

As I said, I really know nothing other than point and shoot and I have a need for good low-light performance and the ability to take photos with and without a flash. I'm very concerned about the lag time between being able to take pictures.

I hoping I could get some opinions, suggestions as to the line up of DSLRs I'm thinking about.
iankh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 15, 2010, 1:24 PM   #2

OK,
Trying to get some background here. Spending more money helps get better low light results - not just on body but also on lens. So, here are some questions:

1. Is this really business use or personal? I.e. are you going to be paid for the photos you take by the publication? Or is this unpaid work? Not so much the article but the photos.
2. Are you treating this as a business expense or a personal expense? These questions go to whether or not it is worthwhile to invest more $$ as a business investment. In other words - if you're not going to be getting paid then spending more money doesn't really earn you any extra money so there's no business reason to invest more in the purchase.