Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 16, 2010, 6:46 PM   #1

Default Looking for suggestions on my SD600 replacement

I currently have a Canon Powershot SD600 camera which has been my absolute favorite camera ever. It has met my every need and taken a major beating in the process and never quit on me in the many years I have owned this camera.

That being said, I have progressed to the stage where I need a camera with a little more capabilities while trying to avoid going to the bulky DLR's as I like having a camera in my pocket and of course the Smart Phone cameras have become great for quick videos and pictures of decent quality. The SD600 lacks the ability to take good shots in low light arena and I need a bit more zoom capabilities for the family photos.

Needs....
- More Zoom
- Better low light shots (I am not a pro I just need some decent shots)
- The smaller the better in my book
- Has to be fairly resilient

I tried a couple of the DLR's but they just did not meet my grab and go nature for a camera.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

WhatToDo
whattodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 16, 2010, 9:05 PM   #2

Whatodo-

Welcome to the forum. We're pleased that you dropped by.

In terms of small and low light, my mind shifts to the Canon S-90, a pocket camera that does well in lower light environments, but is on the pricey side. My other thought is the Fuji F-70EXR. It presents a larger learning curve with the EXR system, but it has 27 to 270mm (10X optical zoom) and is selling for less than $200.00.

Have a great weekend.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2010, 10:44 PM   #3
Super Moderator

my thoughts were pretty much the same.

the s90 is definately the best bet when it comes to additional controls, pocket sized, and is the CLEAR winner for low-light in a compact. but it does not give you an additional zoom.