Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 21, 2010, 12:04 PM   #1

Default Should I buy a used D40 with the kit lens or a new FZ35?

Greetings! This is my first post but I've been reading up on this for a few months now, on various forums.

I've finally been able to save up the right amount of money to buy myself a camera. I'm choosing between a USED D40 DSLR or a NEW FZ35 Point and Shoot. The last camera I had was a fixed focus, 3MP Kodak. Needless to say I'm an absolute beginner to all this photography stuff. The things that I do know come from the beginners' section of http://digital-photography-school.com/ but have never been put to practice. I also know, to some extent, about the effect of sensor size in DSLR vs PnS.
I am willing to learn. I understand that under capable hands, any camera can produce beautiful photos.

I was originally set to buy the new FZ35 but now I'm not so sure because my camera purchase would be a huge investment for me. I won't be able to save up the money I would spend for this purchase anytime soon (I'm a student whose sole source of income is allowance). Since the DSLR would have a better resale value I'm starting to rethink my options.

I have a lot of questions and no one / nowhere else to ask so here goes:

1) What camera am I going to learn the most while enjoying the experience? I'm a techie at heart who enjoys new "toys".

2) Which one of the two will last longer without feeling "outdated"? (is this a baseless fear of mine?)

3) Am I correct in thinking that the D40 would really last as long as I'm interested in learning?

4)Is there a safe number of actuation counts for a used D40? Is there a certain life span?

Feel free to suggest other cameras, but within the same price range. My budget is pretty tight.
Crimson7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 21, 2010, 12:25 PM   #2

Crimson-

Welcome to the Forum. We're pleased that you dropped by.