Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 25, 2010, 10:32 AM   #1

Default Where to start...

Hi everyone!

My name is Kevin Carter. I'm a volunteer FireFighter/EMT in Forked River, NJ. I'm 19, and I just got interested in photography. I registered at 2 other major forums so far and asked about where to start and what cameras to get, but the posts have barely been looked at, let alone replied to. So I'm hoping this will be the last forum I have to go to, because it looks very helpful.

I have ZERO knowledge of photography and basically I don't know where to start. I read some quick 1 page tutorials on composition and viewpoints and a general overview on shutter speed, aperture, and ISO. I still have no idea what they are. I pretty much need a good tutorial on what all of the stuff is, whether it is a website or a book I have to buy.

I don't understand lenses at all. I see a lot of new people getting the 18-55mm kit lenses then getting either at 70-200mm or 55-250mm or a 28-200mm. I see there are zoom lenses, telephoto, wide-angle, and more. People talk about EF and IS and some other things, but all I know is that IS is Image Stabilization. I don't know what lenses are used for what, what the f/(whatever number) thing means and what is good/bad.

I was looking at the Canon EOS Rebel T1i camera, but I have no idea what to get. I could care less about video capabilities; they make video cameras for a reason. I'd like to stay under $750 for camera/lens since it's a starter thing.

I'd like to be able to photograph people at some point down the line, motocross, wildlife, and of course, fires. As for the post-processing, I can get a copy of Light Room, that's not a problem. I have Photoshop already.