Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 27, 2010, 11:29 AM   #1

Default Canon XSi or T1i?

Hi Guys,

I currently have a G11 and quite simply love the camera. However, as some people say with tattoos - one is never enough..... So, now I've got the bug and am hooked on camera's/photography I am still learning about manual controls....I've done online research, bought a G11 book and am waiting for the field guide or magic latern to become available to have as a reference as well.

However, now that I have the bug I would like to play a bit too with a DSLR. I'd like too stay within Canon as I am comfortable with the menu settings, etc and overall, I like them best.....it's what I'm familiar with.

I do not have any intention of doing "professional" photography. It'll merely be of my daughter, family events and landscape/micro. The G11 will also be my primary camera for most things since I love it so much and it is versitile.

With that in mind, to get a dslr would you suggest the XSi or the T1i? Video isn't important but I do like the Digic4 with the G11 which is shared in the T1i. I'd use the kit lens until I became comfortable with using it for a little while. So, which would you guys recommend? I had focused on the XSi before but then wondered if going to the T1i would be a better move?
Shutterbug74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 27, 2010, 11:51 AM   #2
Super Moderator

i would actually wait a couple of months. as Canon is rumored to introduce the replacement to the XSi next month, available in april/may. it should be priced a bit lower than the t1i but with some marked improvements over the xsi including 720p video and articulating screen.

in the meantime the G11 is a fantastic learning tool and getting to know that camera inside and out will make your transition to dslr's very smooth.