Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 27, 2010, 11:04 AM   #1

Default Contemplating moving up to DSLR

Hello all,
New to the Forum, but not the site... it's fantastic. Lots of advice, tips and some great pictures being shown.
A little about me: I have had a Canon S3is Bridge camera for the last four years or so.
Cracking little thing which has served me well and now sadly has gone to camera Heaven - it died!
I am not a Pro, nor an amateur, just a keen photographer that likes to take lots of pictures.
What do I shoot?
Lots of Family & Holiday snaps obviously.. but I like to (try) be a little creative in my shots.
Lots of Indoor/Lowlight shots at home and at parties. I also like to get out early doors or late evening to try and get some different shots with different lighting.
My daughter Horse riding, and my son at TKD.
Landscapes and the unusual are always appealing.
My little Canon as I said has served me well, at least as well it could given it's limits even with my (little) knowledge of overiding in manual mode.
So I'm in the market for a new camera.
The Wife said go for compact - she likes the "Grab & Go" factor.
I wanted a Bridge as i like to use the Viewfinder.
My son is also doing Media Studies and wants to learn more on Photgraphy.
My Daughter couldn't care less and just "yawns" when i start talking or looking in windows!!
Compacts:
I have tried the Panasonic TZ7. Hated it and wasn't overly impressed with it's picture quality.
Canon SX200is - nice little unit, taken some reasonable shots, but lacks continous mode and I hate that FLASH popping up!
Bridge:
Panasonic FZ38 - took some reasonable pictures with it. Didn't like the noise coming through at anything over 400. Also very "Plastic" feel to it. Almost toy like.
Canon SX1 - BIG MISTAKE. Anything over 200 was really pants!! Even when i took it back to the shop the guy wondered why I was sold it!!
DSLR
I haven't really had any hands on proper with these.