Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 2, 2010, 3:28 AM   #1

Default Newbee - need a digital camera with 20x optical lens

I am looking for a camera with a good zoom lens to take photos of my twins surfing ...have been looking at a couple of cameras but as always they have there plus and minuses. I am quite keen on the Olympus SP590pUZ because of the zoom, looking for recommendations in that price bracket. Also at the higher end the Canon Powershot SX1IS. All suggestions welcome just need to be steered in the right direction. Also I am a total novice so the easier to work the camera the better.Thanks
Labiza is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 2, 2010, 9:17 AM   #2

Labiza-

Welcome to the Forum. We're pleased that you dropped by.

I own and use the Olympus SP-590. It is a good camera, but not a great camera when used in the automatic mode, while it does have 26X, the longest of all the super zoom cameras, it takes more tweaking with small adjustments to get good image quality than I expect you might want to make. The Sp-590 takes standard video.

At the 20X optical zoom mark there are two camera that seem to offer better performance that meets your personal need a bit better. Both the Sony HX-1 and the Canon SX-20 have strong Automatic Mode Performance. Each camera in addition has added features that enhance the camera's performance.

I own all three of these four cameras, excepting that I own the Canon SX-10 model, the forerunner of the SX-20. If I had to choose between them. The Sony HX-1 would be my first choice, followed by the Canon SX-10, and the Olympus SP-590. I do not own the Canon SX-1