Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 12, 2010, 8:39 AM   #1

Default An affordable camera body to match my OM lenses...

Hi everyone! I've been happily photographing with my old Olympus 10/OM 10 for many years, but would really want to advance to a DSLR now as going digital would be a bit more comfortable and flexible.

As a full-time student I have a budget of 400 euros only, and I was hoping I could find a camera body to match my lenses. I have the amazing Olympus 50mm/1:1,8 and Hanimex 28mm 1:2,8. I know it's not much, but currently they are enough for me as I mostly take portraits and landscape shots.

According to my research I can buy an adapter for these OM mount lenses to match Olympus 3/4 cameras; awesome. (About ten quid from Hong Kong.) But I've also read different comments about the compatibility with e.g. Canon cameras. On ebay I see adapters that promise compatibility between Olympus OM mount lenses and Canon DSLRs but other sites outright deny this possibility. Which is it then?

I found a cheap deal on Olympus e-520 (350 euros) and it seemed good enough but then I read it doesn't take such good pics at low lighting. This is a kind of a set back as I really like doing just that. I had really liked the test images I had seen and was prepared to work with the quirks that didn't make it as good as its Nikon and Canon counterparts...

By the way, I could really save money if I bought an Olympus e-450, but I've understood I shouldn't, as it's not as good? And has the same problems with low light shooting? Any experiences?