Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 16, 2010, 12:53 PM   #1

Default Nikon D90 or Canon T2i???

I'm new to photography, technically on DSLR. I'm a mom of 2yr.old twin girls & it's getting harder for me to take a decent photo of them as they grow, they won't stay still that's why I decided to move on DSLR. I also would like to take nature scenes. I'm really confused if I should get the Nikon D90 or wait for the Canon T2i. Video capability is a major plus for me so I don't have to bring another gadget as my twins are a handful. 720p HD is good, as I will only be taking home videos, I know 1080 is much better. Please help me decide what should I get, I'm a novice at photography.

And oh, I found a package for D90 on ebay with 4-5 lenses(I'm not sure if I need these much lenses), tripod, flash, hard case shell, backpack, 16gb memory card & many more for only $1,400. Are these lenses good in the package deal? Or should I buy in reputable stores like Kits Camera, B&H, Best Buy or other camera stores?

I'm hoping you can help me pick the camera that I should buy.
Thanks!
sheeberi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 16, 2010, 12:58 PM   #2

From a photography (non video) perspective lots of DSLRs will meet your needs. I would suggest you do some research into shooting video with a DSLR though. It is not anywhere as easy as it is to do with a dedicated video camera. Now, my dslr doesn't have the capability but so far it seems the video in DSLRs is a lot more difficult to use - many don't autofocus in video with liveview, etc. Again, I don't have first hand advice but I would suggest looking for people who actually have that hands on experience shooting video with DSLRs so they can give you an impression if it's user-friendly enough for the situations you want to use it in.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 1:35 PM   #3