Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 22, 2010, 2:25 AM   #1

Default Complete newbie...wants to graduate from p&s to dslr

Yes, here is another newbie who knows little but really wants to take better photos....

Currently using a Casio Exilim and a Nikon Coolpix L16 (and an Iphone 3GS haha) for taking pics of family, friends, holidays etc. I live in Africa so you can imagine the wildlife and scenery is amazing.

Now I want to get a decent entry-level slr to "learn" photography with.....and I would love to have a nice zoom lens with which I can take shots of wildlife, kids on safari, scenery, sunsets etc. Also dont want a very huge camera, something I can carry along to the bush, or to birthday parties, or even school plays.

I know I'm probably the millionth newbie here with the same questions, but can some expert pls kindly assist?

(I also dont want to spend the GDP of a third world country buying this entry level camera...)
dropmyload is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 22, 2010, 2:43 AM   #2

an entry level dslr kit is what you should look into.

either the canon rebel series

or the nikon 1000 series would be a good jumping off point.
pbjunkiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2010, 2:57 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by dropmyload View Post
... using a Casio Exilim and a Nikon Coolpix L16 (and an Iphone 3GS haha)...want to get a decent entry-level slr to "learn" photography with.....and I would love to have a nice zoom lens ....Also dont want a very huge camera, something I can carry along to the bush, or to birthday parties, or even school plays...dont want to spend the GDP of a third world country...entry level camera...)
The requirements "nice zoom lens", "slr", 'not "huge"', and 'go easily anywhere' are to some degree mutually exclusive. For the wildlife you'd really need a solid tripod as well.