Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

View Poll Results: DSLR or Super Zoom
DSLR 0 0%
Nikon Coolpix P100 1 33.33%
Canon PowerShot SX20IS 1 33.33%
Fujifilm FinePix HS10 1 33.33%
Voters: 3. You may not vote on this poll

Old Feb 22, 2010, 5:12 PM   #1

Default Looking to replace my Nikon 5700

I am an amateur photographer and I just sold my, much loved, 7-yeard old Nikon 5700, which had taken roughly 12000 pictures all over the world.

What I loved about it was the color and picture quality, and 8X zoom that took stunning macro shots and amazing landscapes. It had very good DOF in my opinion.

That said, it was very poor in low-light situations and action--think kids and those precious moments that disappear in a blink of an eye. There was a lot of shutter-lag in the camera, it ate-up batteries like crazy, and didn't seem to like cold weather.

So, now that I have sold it, I am looking for a replacement. My first thought was to jump into a DSLR (I've used several film SLRs in the past), but I am reconsidering it due to price, weight/bulk and the thought of buying and changing a variety of lenses for different uses.

Next option is a super-zoom point-and-shoot like my old Nikon 5700. I know a lot has changed in the past 7-years and among the current crop, I am looking at the following:
  • Nikon P100 which is too new and doesn’t have any reviews, but I like the advertised features, the 26X zoom, and 1080i video recording.
  • Nikon P90 is the closest to the P100 for comparison, but it had mixed reviews.
  • Canon PowerShot SX20IS has some of the same features as the P100 but only 20X zoom (28-560mm) and 720p video. It too had some mix reviews but overall seemed to be better than the P90.