Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 3, 2010, 9:53 AM   #1

Default 1st DSLR (budget range)

Hey guys (and girls),

I'm just new to steves digicams (as well as to dslr's).
But I thought why not, after reading my ass off on different forums, post a thread of my own and ask for your expert opinnions

This is my situation:
I'm new to dslr, but very well willing to go deeper into the world of dslr's
However my girlfriend also wants to use it every once in a while and she's not that much into these things.
The primary goal of the camera is to use it on holidays etc. For instance I'm going to Boston this June and to Brasil in August (I'm from Holland btw).
So I would love to shoot some nice landscapes and architecture.

Some other preferences:
Money I've got to spend on the whole package (for this year) is max $800,-
Primary focus is on landscapes and architecture but extra option for video would be nice.
If I really enjoy using a dslr I would probably want to buy other lenses later on.
Some automatic settings for my girlfriend would be nice.
If possible an hdmi connector would also be very welcome.

I've seen serveral camera's which could meet most of my criteria like the Pentax K-x full kit, the Nikon d5000 and Canon EOS 450d though the last two are a bit more expensive than the first.
Could you give me any recommendations (not specifically on the mentioned models) regarding my first dslr.

It is very much appreciated.

Carlo
JC de Jonge is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 3, 2010, 10:55 AM   #2

Carlo-

Welcome to the Forum. We're delighted that you dropped by.

Of course, I realize that price to vary from one country to another. The least expensive DSLR that incorporates video here in the USA, is the Pentax Kx. The Canon 450D does not include video, but the Nikon D-5000 does.