Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 7, 2010, 5:30 PM   #1

Default Is it wise to buy a GH1..?

Having been debating which m4/3 camera system to buy into (thanks for everyone's help) and waiting for today's Panasonic announcement, I'm a little disappointed that the newly announced G2 (and G10) won't be available to buy until June (!). I can't wait that long.

Looking at what I need (and want) I have a number of criteria to satisfy, but the three key ones are:

• Size - has to be smaller than my old 40D outfit
• Live View - I had eye problems using the 40D viewfinder, even on short shoots
• HD Video - I want to explore more 'creative' movie making

My search was veering towards Panasonic (GF1) rather than Olympus (E-PL1), but the more I studied all the reviews, samples and specs, I realised that the flip-out 3" screen would offer significant extra flexibility, and the mini-DSLR styling with proper 'grip' would probably be more suited to my hands. Add in the excellent built in EVF (for occasions when I would prefer to use a traditional right-eye approach to shooting), creative Full-HD movie making capabilities and the 28-280 equivalent 10x kit lens (covering 90% of what I want in one lens), and suddenly, it looks like I'm facing a GH1 purchase!!

I don't want a touch-screen, and I would prefer proper HD video (i.e. actual 50/60fps and not 25/30f output at 720p, and the option of 1080) so it's all starting to fit into place.

At this stage, I'd really appreciate any pre-purchase advice..... is the GH1 a sensible move? My guess is that there will be an updated GH2 model announced within 6 months (although maybe not available for 9?!), and that it will likely get 35Mb/s 1920x1080p, updated Venus HD II engine and touch-screen (maybe 920k) which I think I could live without, or could always body-swap down the line.....