Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 9, 2010, 4:09 PM   #1

Default Pentax KX or Canon T2I

Hello all,
I've been lurking this site for the last couple of days and decided to finally ask for some help. I am a newbie to DSLR so bear with me.

I have been looking at these two cameras; Pentax K-X and Canon T2I.

I have a few questions/concerns regarding my DSLR purchase.

1. I am mostly concerned about buying into a particular brand/system. Primarily looking into the future. I want to purchase a brand that I can grow into, saying 2-3 years from now, I can upgrade my camera body and still use the lenses I might have purchased. For example, I don't want to buy into the Pentax system, then 2-3 years later have to jump ship to a Canon system.

2. As for shooting style, I'm not too sure about this one as of yet. I would rate them as follows:
  • Indoor / Spontaneous - Friends and Family
  • Travel / Outdoor
  • Action - Sporting events
  • Low Light - Night city shots
  • Video - Not a priority, but would be nice to have
3. Accessories / Lenses - I understand Canon has a large amount of the market share, correct me if I'm wrong, but I do not want this to be my deciding factor. Are there equivalent lenses and accessories if I were to go Pentax or any other system?

4. Any other brands or cameras I should consider?

I know this "quest" for me is not going to easy, but from what I have read so far, I am enjoying myself every little bit.
PATWRIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 9, 2010, 4:35 PM   #2
Super Moderator

for general shooting, either camera or system is a fine choice. the canon selection of lenses is larger and cheaper for the most part. however with pentax you get image stabilization in all lenses, (even the older manual focus lenses that work just fine on the kx).