Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 10, 2010, 10:29 PM   #1

Default Are newly announced cameras worth waiting for?

I have been researching for a few months now and trying to decide on which new camera I want to buy. I kept hearing people suggest waiting until after the new cameras are announced. Now that it seems like they have been announced, have any of them really seemed that amazing or should I just go ahead and get a Panasonic FZ-35? It just doesn't seem like I have seen much talk about the new cameras on this board yet. Any idea when professional reviews will be out? Is that what people are waiting on?

I mainly shoot photos of my kids - inside (not always great light), outside, soccer games, etc. I think I want to stick with a point and shoot but part of me would love to make the jump to dSLR. Cost and size are the main things keeping me from wanting to take that step right now. Like everyone, I would like the dSLR image quality with the size and price of a p+s. I am trying to keep the cost under $400.

Thanks for your response and for all that I have learned through this board!
calmmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 10, 2010, 10:40 PM   #2

calmmom-

Welcome to the Forum. We're delighted that you dropped by.

The Sony A-230, a 10mp DSLR camera with the Sony 18-55mm (27mm to 80mm in 35mm terms) kit lens is now selling for around $370 to 380. So, the DSLR option is there, and available to you. A Sony 55-200mm lens (83mm to 300mm in 35mm terms) sells for around $100 0n E-Bay. It would have better image quality and a higher ISO capability than the FZ-35 camera.

However, the FZ-35 is tops among the super zoom cameras. We have a very active and very friendly FZ-35 group in our Panasonic P+S folder. Please take a look. There a lots of FZ-35 photo posted there as well as a lot of help.

Either option would seem to move you nicely toward your goal.

Sarah Joyce