Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 10, 2010, 10:53 PM   #1

Default Want to get a pentax k-x ... Is getting the 55-300mm kit worth it?

Right now, I'm considering between these two:

Pentax k-x with 18-55 (520)

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...:X:RTQ:US:1123

Pentax k-x with 18-55 and 55-300 (700)

http://cgi.ebay.com/PENTAX-K-x-KX-DS...item439d8d9d18

For now, I guess my main goal is to take pics of my vacation in May (Singapore -> Malaysia -> Thailand -> Vietnam). People, landscapes, and cities I imagine. This will be my first camera. I've been using my brother's Canon SD550 for a few years, but I didn't really know how to take good pictures... Total noobie here

Do you think the 55-300 is worth the extra money?
jellysandwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 10, 2010, 11:24 PM   #2

I have been to all those places. You will want to bring a longer zoom with you. If you decide to get the one lens kit and opt for a longer zoom later. The pentax DA 55-300mm will be about 450 dollars. The DA is a bit better build quality then the DAL lens that comes with the kits.

Another option is to get the tamron 70-300mm, it's not a bad entry level zoom. But I think the DAL 55-300mm is still a better deal. With no range gap.

Last edited by shoturtle; Mar 10, 2010 at 11:43 PM.
shoturtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 11:59 PM   #3

I've gotten a lot of good advice on the Kx in the last few days on this site - review some of the threads if you haven't already.

It sounds like your needs are similar to mine. I spent a lot of time going over reviews and ultimately decided I could get the 55-300 in the kit for less than an additional $200 and learn the lens over time instead of buying that lens or another one for $350 to $400. Spend the money now and I've got it. If I don't, ten years down the road I am probably complaining that I don't have the money for a zoom.