Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 11, 2010, 6:17 AM   #1

Default Help me spend my money - upgrade time

While I am new to this forum, I am not new to photography, purchasing my first SLR in 1969 and during the film era had my own darkroom (actually, currently in the closet) and taught classes on lighting, composition and darkroom technique. I am a Realtor and my photos are the envy of the office. They have encouraged me to freelance as an additional source of income, and strongly considering it as I look at the marketing and crossmarket possibilities.

While I have some film cameras around gathering dust, my digital and other equipment includes Nikon D40, Nikon 18-55 and 55-200VR, Sigma 10-20, and SB600 flash. Plus I got rid of cheap ol' wobbly yesterday with a new Manfrotto tripod. Software - Paint Shop Pro (used various versions since a shareware program and never 'progressed' to Photoshop.) Nikon Capture NX2.

Went through the D90 vs. D300s debate in my mind and think the D90 may be the better option unless you can convince me otherwise. Both have the features to accomplish what I want to with the D40 as backup. While the D300s may be hardier with more functions and would definately provide more 'bling' the D90 frees up a lot of funds for the wish list.

Should I:
1. Get the D300s and forget about upgrades?
2. Get the D90 body only or kit with the 18-105?
3. Get new (faster) glass. While happy with the 10-20, replace original 18-55 kit, get macro/portrait, etc?
4. Get additional flashes and stands for master commander setup in Nikon's Creative Lighting. One SB900 or two SB600 to go with my existing SB600? Traditional strobes?
5. Other?