Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 17, 2010, 8:43 AM   #1

Default under water camera's

Hi all, having just come back form a trip to the Egypt and the red sea where i did a lot of snorkelling i am in the hunt for a not to expensive digital camera i can use under water.

i have no knowledge of these types of cameras so was wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction.

i have no idea what sort of under water photography i would want to do, so i cannot help there.

as long as the viewer is easy to see and it has a reasonable zoom on it so you can get closer up shots with out getting to close your self, i am also thinking maybe a wide zoom lens might be useful.

i did not really want to spend over 200.

as i side note i have read that you can get a case for a normal digital camera to use underwater i have a olympus 8080WZ but i did not really want to go down this route unless anyone can tell me this is a good way to go

any help would be great!
Blaupunkt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 17, 2010, 12:09 PM   #2

for your budget I would look at the intova line of dive camera, they are basic point and shoots camera, but take okay underwater photos. They are like 200 us dollars for a intova IC10, I have a IC 6 I got for scuba couple of years ago, and it okay for underwater snap shots. If you want better UW performance, a better point and shoot with a housing is a good option. But that will surpass your budget.

Underwater case are available but it depends if it is a popular camera for diving. Some point and shoot housing will cost more then the camera itself. Think olympus had a case for your camera but it was about 550 dollars, ikelite has them too, but again they are way above your stated budget.
Old Mar 17, 2010, 1:37 PM   #3

ok thanks, i didnt think there would be much point in spending loads on one at the moment, its not like i get the chance to do it alot