Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 18, 2010, 6:16 PM   #1

Default Spend my money -- dSLR Newbie

Hello all,
I am so happy to have found this forum. From just the few posts I have read, everyone seems to be very friendly and helpful. Hope that is the case with my question. Which dSLR for me?

I have researched and now I am just frustrated with the options. I keep running into bias opinions on what camera system is better. From what I gather, any camera will work. Ultimately, it will be ME taking the photo and using the camera as a tool. With that being said, I am just trying to find the best camera for my budget and shooting needs.

A warning though, I am a newbie with dSLR.

My current budget is $1000 for camera with decent lenses and $300 for accessories such as bags, memory cards, batteries, etc. I am looking to buy new and I do not want to buy used. I understand that I could save money on a body and spend the rest of my budget on lenses and accessories, but with something like a dSLR, which I do not know much about internally and what to look for, I feel more comfortable buying new.

Features-wise, I am looking to shoot stills. I have 1 baptism, 3 weddings, 2 graduations, and other random family events that I want to walk away from with some good photos. From what I have learned, these types of situations will require a good low light camera.

I am also looking to do some outdoor shots as well; landscapes, sunsets, etc. I'm pretty sure any camera will do this well.

Action shots are pretty big on my list of priorities. I have a lot of nephews and nieces that are coming to age where they are playing sports. Basketball and tennis right now, but that can all change. I want to get those "frozen" shots if thats what you call them.

Video is the LEAST of my priorities, while it would be nice to have on the camera to grow with. If the camera for me does not have video, so be it.