Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 18, 2010, 6:57 PM   #1

Default K-x or E-PL1?

I'm intending to buy a camera in the next month or two to replace my Fuji F30.

What I'm looking for is something reasonably small and portable, but expandable in terms of lenses and newer bodies as technology evolves. Image quality is important to me, but I wouldn't consider myself a technical fanatic about this. I would use it for wildlife/nature shooting, especially when travelling, as well as for the usual family photography. I'm a former film SLR journalist, so I understand and would appreciate easily accessed manual controls.

I am stuck between the Pentax K-x and the Olympus E-PL1. I think the Pentax would be a good entry into the DSLR world, and I think I would find it easy to understand. It has great low light capabilities, which would be fine, but is not a deal breaker for me. I like the idea of the Olympus because of its size and simplicity, although it looks like the manual controls may be difficult to access quickly.

I would be grateful for any perspectives you could share with me on these two cameras. I would also be open to other suggestions, although I have a visceral reaction against Nikon or Canon (don't ask why...it just is).
Ajka is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 18, 2010, 7:01 PM   #2

I shoot the K-x and own a epl-1 also, what do you like to shoot, and how much do you plan to travel with the camera?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajka View Post
I'm intending to buy a camera in the next month or two to replace my Fuji F30.