Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 24, 2010, 11:54 AM   #1

Default Going on a Safari

I am going on a Safari to South Africa in June and want a good Camera to take pictures during the excursions. I will be also attending the World Cup Soccer games and I want a good SLR camera. I am a novice so I have some questions.

Looking at the following cameras:
Canon EOS 7D
Canon Digital Rebel XS
Canon Dogotal Rebel T1i

1) Which one would be best for me?
2) Are there any others you would suggest besides these?
3) Suggestion on where to purchase?
newcastle77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 24, 2010, 11:59 AM   #2

The XS isn't up to the others. I'd drop that one.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2010, 12:03 PM   #3

newcastle-

Welcome to the Forum. We're delighted that you dropped by.

With the safari and World Cup you are surely going to need not only a DSLR body, but also a good zoom lens as well.

What kind of budget to you have to work with? Please tell us about your photo experience and other photos that you want to, or normally do take? Also what camera are you coming from to this new DSLR?

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2010, 12:09 PM   #4

Hi Sarah.

My budget is approximatly $3k. I am a total begginer and I want a point and click but able to take good photos of the animals and the action during the games. I am coming from a standard camer digital point and shoot.
Old Mar 24, 2010, 12:11 PM   #5

I you can, I would go for a Canon T21. It has many of the features of the 7D, but is much less expensive. You can use any money you save to buy a good zoom lens.

One more thought - make sure you can take whatever camera you have into the various stadiums. In the US, sometimes, they don't let you bring "pro" looking gear inside. For many of the gate guards, all DSLR's are pro equipment and even some of the larger superzooms might not be allowable.