Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 26, 2010, 10:38 AM   #1
sfo

Default Need help with new P&S selection...

I've been lurking for a while and reading great information. Now I need some help in making a decision on a new camera. I currently have a Powershot S410 and its seen its last days. I have a budget of ~$350 for a new P&S camera.

I have two primary uses for the camera: interior/exterior real estate photos (read wide angle) and I have two new baby boys. Here are some things that are important to me in selecting a new camera:

-wide angle
-good view finder
-quick shots
-image stabilizer
-easy(ish) OS
-good flash range
-battery life

Some of the reviews and other info have led me to the PowerShot SD3500 IS, FinePix F200EXR & Panasonic LX3. of course, I am total newby and would love some help and input.
sfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 26, 2010, 12:22 PM   #2

sfo-

Welcome to the Forum. We're delighted that you dropped by.

Let's review the cameras you have mentioned:

Canon SD-3500: A nice 24mm wide angle. However, the 14 mp is bothersome. In some cameras like the Panasonic ZS7 it has resulted in decreased image quality.

Fuji F-200EXR: This camera begins at 30.5mm, so it it difficult to call that much of a wide angle. Also to get the best image quality, the EXR system require multiple small adjustment.

Panasonic LX3: This is a very fine camera with a fast F 2.0 lens, and excellent 24mm wide angle, and a large imager, that has a huge reputation. However, it has a very short zoom range and a replacement camera is due sometime in the Fall of 2010. Due to the dated design, I would have some second thoughts.

Here are a couple of additional cameras that you might want to consider:

Canon S-90: This very popular camera, like the LX3 has a larger imager and a very fast F 2.0 lens. It is very capable and has a huge following. It is noted for its high ISO/ low light capabilities.