Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 2, 2010, 4:42 PM   #1

Default Sony HX5V vs. Panasonic ZS3 or ZS7 vs. Nikon S8000

Hi! I'm a casual photographer, looking for a camera to take pictures of family and friends and vacation shots. I don't need many (really, any) manual controls. I'm looking to replace a broken Casio Exilim Z75; I loved the portability of that camera, but now would like a more powerful zoom, plus the image quality on that camera was fairly soft. I'm looking at mega-zooms -- the Sony HX5V, the Panasonic Lumix ZS3 or ZS7, or the Nikon S8000. I'm leaning towards the Sony HX5V because of its panorama mode and its low light capabilities; however, a friend of mine has the Panasonic ZS3, and I've been very impressed with the quality of the pictures that he's taken; I'm also considering the Nikon S8000 because it has the smallest and slimmest body of the various mega-zooms. Does anyone have any advice as to which mega-zoom camera I should choose? And, given that I've been used to carrying around an ultracompact, will I end up finding all of these mega-zooms too big and bulky? I'd like to find something that's not all that much bigger than the Exilim Z75 that I had, but I'd really like to get better picture quality and a much better zoom. Thanks for any input! Jess
opalmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 2, 2010, 5:04 PM   #2

Do you have a budget, as you have a wide range in price? As the zs7 and HX5V is in the 350 range, and the ZS3 is 230-240 dollars
Old Apr 2, 2010, 7:45 PM   #3

opalmom-

Welcome to the Forum. We're glad you dropped by.

Among the cameras that you mention, the HX5 is the clear winner. It has a great Auto Mode, both for still photos and for HD videos. The HD video allows zooming while filming and features an Active Super Steady that produces smooth, steady HD videos without bumping and jerkiness.