Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 4, 2010, 1:09 AM   #1

Default camera for artist

Hi I am a decorative artist and need to upgrade my current Canon Powershot SD630 to something that is better at taking interior and low light shots. I have a hard time getting the detail of decorative wall finishes I have done. I would also be using the camera for video and would like to have the burst mode because I have some eagles on my property and want to get some better shots of them. I don't want to pay more than $400, which translates to $400 regular price, but will shop for much lower price.

Thanks for any help.

Last edited by katers; Apr 4, 2010 at 1:15 AM.
katers is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 4, 2010, 11:36 AM   #2

katers-

Welcome to the Forum. We're delighted that you dropped by.

The new Sony HX5 camera may just fill your specifications quite nicely. It can shoot easily at high ISO speeds up to ISO 1600, and it can take a burst of 10 photos in a single second. The HX5 is selling for $349.

The only downside is the HX5 only has 10X optical zoom (25mm to 250mm in 35mm terms) and that may be insufficient for your eagles. However, I have seen the Sony HX-1 with 20X optical zoom (28mm to 560mm in 35mm terms) and the same fast burst speed selling for $399.00.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 12:47 PM   #3

You may also want to look at the panasonic FZ35 with the 18x zoom. It has allot fans on forum so there is allot of samples of the FZ35's hand work if you just do a quick search.

With the sony you can do a sweep panorama photo in the camera, where the camera will stitch the photo you burst into a finish pano product. There seems to be inconsistancy on how good this work vs taking multiple shots yourself and stitching them on the computer.