Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 8, 2010, 5:22 AM   #1

Default A Beginer Needs Help

Hello friends! Its good to find Steve's forum for photography. This is my first post here today.
I am a beginner and know next to nothing about photography but am very very interested in it. The best camera that i have ever used is a sony cyber shot and desperately want to upgrade to a better, bigger , camera that can provide a good picture quality. I am basically fond of aquarium photography and use my camera on vacations and get togethers other than that.
I am not able to decide on which camera to go for. The ones i have on my mind are Canon G10 or 11, Nikon P90, canon S90, sony HX 1 or 5, Canon D1000, Nikon D3000.... yes, u got it. This is my problem that i have whole market on my mind. Please please please help me out. Thanx in advance.
Regards
Shriyans
shriyans is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 8, 2010, 11:02 AM   #2

shriyans-

Welcome to the Forum We're delighted that you dropped by.

Let's focus on your needs more precisely. It appears that aquarium photography is your highest priority. Then the usual family, vacation and holiday photo are on the second priority tier.

To do really good aquarium photography, which will require higher ISO settings and a clos-up ability, we need to eliminate a couple cameras from your list that cannot do aquarium photos well. So scratch the Canon G-10, and the Nikon P-90, both do poorly at higher ISO settings.

The best camera of the group, at the lowest cost, than can do aquarium photography well without adding special lenses is the Canon G-11. So keep the G-11 in mind. Both the Canon XS or 1000D and the Nikon D-3000 are DSLR's. They will require a special macro or close-up lens to take those good aquarium shots so that will add anywhere from $250 to $400 to the kit cost for a dedicated macro lens for either of those two cameras.