Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 9, 2010, 3:10 AM   #1

Default Panasonic FZ35 or Fuji HS10

Hi Folks,

I have used a Panasonic FZ5 for many years, & feel very comfortable with it, but the time has come to upgrade. Until recently my obvious choice was the FZ35, partly because I am pretty familiar with Panasonic controls & menus, I have faith in the brand, it has the best reviews, & generally I have been pretty happy with the image quality with the FZ5.
However, I am being tempted away from Panasonic by the Fuji HS10. What I like about the HS10 is the 30x zoom, 3inch LCD, 10fps burst, & the extra dedicated buttons for white balance, iso, focusing etc, which I believe you have to delve in to the menu to find on the Panasonic.
Would appreciate any comments from FZ35 or Fuji owners.

Thanks

Rob
Robbob67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 9, 2010, 6:44 AM   #2

hello Rob
I am no expert, but, I have had and tried numerous cameras over the past 5 years.
When i look for a new camera perhaps the latest thing out i tend to go to the store and have a hold of it see whats its like in the hand, and then try the menu's out, you sort of seem to know immediately whether your going to grow with it or not.
The HS10 on paper seems to have most things covered, what i would test first i think is how the "IS" works at 30x maybe??.
I think most superzooms seem to all do the job some slightly better than others.
The FZ35 is a good choice at a very good price at the moment, canon SX20is another good choice.
If you could be happy with 10x - 12x zoom maybe look at the panasonic ZS3 or ZS7 or the new Sony HX5 all good cameras and in a relatively smaller form factor, just an idea.
I will leave the real technical stuff to the pro's !!
Good luck with your purchase whatever you buy.
Lee.W
Lee.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2010, 10:48 AM   #3

Robbob-