Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 14, 2010, 6:37 PM   #1

Default Panasonic FZ35 vs Sony HX5v

I am planning to buy a camera as an upgrade to my old Canon. I have narrowed down my choices to Panasonic FZ35 and Sony HX5. I have read the features and have seen pictures from both cameras. Both of them looked good to me. I am not a camera expert. So i need some help in selecting between these two cameras.

I want the camera to take good quality pictures outdoors and also take some decent pictures indoors.

I also want nice HD videos. So a comparison between the FZ35 and HX5v video quality would be very helpful.

For the HX5, is the GPS really that useful?. What about the sweep panaroma and Twilight modes?.

If the size difference between these two cameras is not an issue, which camera is the best buy here?

Since the FZ35 and HX5 is now almost in the same price range, i am confused on which camera to buy.

Some insights from the experts or opinions from anyone who has experienced using both these cameras will help me a lot.

Thanks in advance.
John_F is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 14, 2010, 7:14 PM   #2

JohnF-

Welcome to the Forum. We're delighted that you drooped by.

If size is not an issue, go for the 14 ounce Panasonic FZ-35 and you will get a 28mm wide angle, and be able to reach all the way out to 500+ mm. I own both cameras, but if push came to shove between the two, and image quality was the absolute priority, I'd head toward the FZ-35.

Just be aware that if Panasonic adheres to their usual introduction schedule, then the Panasonic FZ-35 is due for replacement in late Summer 2010. However, the high tech toys of the HX5 are fun. and the newness will last longer.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2010, 7:57 PM   #3