Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 16, 2010, 6:21 AM   #1

Default HELP: Super-zooms (P100, FZ35, HX1) vs Pentax K-x

Yo,

So, I'm a newb first-time buyer. Spent the last week or so researching extensively and reading all the reviews of the cameras in my price range. I could probably rattle off specs like ISO, zoom, fps, megapixels... of the below models even though I have just about never held a DSLR in my hands. Anyway, some help would be much appreciated. I have signed up for a beginners photography course in June and they recommend a DSLR. After some research, I realized that for my money, I can get a megazoom with more features and they are apparently OK for the course.

Since I'm not a professional, my number 1 priority is getting something I can have fun with. I don't really see myself ever needing to do any prints. But I do want to be able to take beautiful pics. The kinds I could feature on flickr or enter into online contests etc. I like the idea of messing with the pictures in Photoshop doing things like HDR etc. Video quality is also something I value. I would like to be able to take decent photos/video in low light conditions. I am quite involved in the music scene so I would like to be able to take good photos and videos at gigs.

I've narrowed my options to these:

Nikon P100: This camera appeals to me firstly because its very new on the market and therefore presumably has lots of new technologies. Things like the sports shots, 1080p continuous bursts etc could be fun to use. From what I've read tho, the image quality on this camera is not amazing (or at least its, too early to tell as many sites have not yet reviewed it).