Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 16, 2010, 3:17 PM   #1

Default Which Camera is right for me?

New to this forum, looking forward to learning alot from some of you pro's out there. Seems like a great forum, lots of helpful information and topics here.

Yes I am a newbie when it comes to the professional camera's, so all the pixel, shutter speed, optical, digital, etc etc I kinda understand but i'm new to it all when it comes to this high end cameras.

Purchasing a new camera, and will be my first 'major' camera purchase, as I basically just had cheap little digitals etc.. nothing really over $200. Well now I am looking forward to purchase a nicer camera, and some details ....

Looking to spend around $1000 (CDN/US)
I mostly use a camera for Sporting Events, Concerts, General Travelling, Sightseeing..... I am really more concerned with a good Zoom to take closeups from a distance. The small cheap digitals usually are blurry and not great if you zoom in all the way from a distance (like I said I only used 4x,12x digital zoom's on like a Sony digital, nothing serious).

Basically I dont want to lose quality when zooming in for close ups from a distance....

What's a good option for me? Optical Zoom? Digital Zoom?

What kind and brand could get me a good camera for around $1000 ???

Thanks in advance for your help!
raiderfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 16, 2010, 3:59 PM   #2

For most of what you want to shoot, any dSLR should do well. A couple of things you mentioned would point me in one direction or another.