Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 19, 2010, 5:00 PM   #1

Default P&S Camera w/ HD Video

Ok after a little research here are my current choices..

1. Sony CyberShot H55
2. Sony CyberShot W370
3. Canon SD1400IS

I am VERY open to suggestions, as long as they have the following features:

1. 4x-10x Optical Wide-Angle Lens
2. HD Video capabilities (HDMI output would be nice, but not a deal-breaker)
3. 10 MP or more
4. Fairly pocket-able
5. Between $150-$250 Price range

So what do ya recommend? Thanks
unkalledfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 19, 2010, 11:28 PM   #2

I was also looking at the Sony CyberShot HX5v... It looks pretty impressive and has loads of features to satisfy the geek within (I'm an IT Admin hehe)..

I'm just wondering if it's really worth the extra $100 over the Sony H55, which looks very similar, minus the GPS, AVCHD and 1080i w/ stereo video..
Old Apr 20, 2010, 9:53 AM   #3

I'm not sure about the H55 but I ended up returning the HX5. I wasn't impressed by the photos. They were rather soft, IMO. The video was great outdoors but not so good indoors. I bought a Panasonic FZ35 instead that I hope I like.
tallymom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2010, 10:17 AM   #4

unkalledfor-

Welcome to the Forum. We're delighted that you dropped by.

The best camera for the money in the price range you have specified is the Panasonic ZR1, which Costco has on sale for $170.00. The ZR1 has 12 mp, 8X optical zoom (25mm to 200mm) cna do HD video and zoom while filming and has excellent outdoor image quality.