Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 22, 2010, 6:29 AM   #1

Default Fair comparisson of EOS 550D vs D90

Hello all,

First off, I am frustrated by my current point-and-shoot because it is neaver ready when I am. Twiddling through menus to change white-balance, trying to remember where the Flash-strength setting is, having to first turn off some setting before I am allowed to turn on RAW, etc, all just frustrates me to the point of not taking any photos any more.

I want a camera that will be quick on the draw. I'm still learning how best to change more subtle manual settings and get it wrong most of the time, but I'm getting there.

Now I am considering the the 550D and D90. I don't have any existing accessories so it is "green fields", but in time and as budget allows I'll want to add a lens or two, flash and a few filers to my kit.

The higher pixel-count of the 550D seems to me to be a bit of a waste - I generally frame close enough to what I want in the final shot that I don't crop much, but I suppose it allows for blowing up more if I want it ... at the cost of transfer speed (Buffer to card, card to PC) ...

Also a number of websites claims that the higher pixel count introduce more noise (more sensitivity due to smaller sensor elements, sensitivity to defects in the lens, color aberrations showing up, etc), especially when compared to the larger, lower-pixel-count sensor of the D90.

What I would like to know is, if I were to scale the resulting image's resolution down to be the same as that of the D90 ... would the effects disappear? Photos which are shown in the reviews comparing noise at high ISO are always in favour of the D90, but seem to always be at native resolution. After a resolution scale down you will automatically smoothe out some of the grainyness, possibly hide slightly softer focus, and probably hide minute lens defects too.