Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 28, 2010, 11:49 PM   #1
LEK

Default Panasonic ZS3 software and LCD problems?

Hello, I need some help deciding on the correct camera. I'm looking for a compact with a big zoom to replace the Canon 710IS which I love. Use it mostly for landscape and wildlife photography while traveling. We like to enlarge some of our travel photos to 8x10 or even an occasional 11 x 14. I had pretty much decided on the Panasonic Zs3 based on most reviews, but I'm not totally commited to it. In reading customer reviews of the ZS3, I am reading that the software is very difficult, and one Amazon customer actually said that you could lose your pictures if you don't use the software in a particular way or if you use different software. Has this happened to anyone? That would be a nightmare, and I'm not very good with software in general. If it is possible to lose your photos while downloading them into your computer, this is definitely not the camera for me! Also concerned about the broken LCD screens that keep getting mentioned on Amazon, has anyone heard of this problem? Apparently in some of the Zs3's the LCD screen suddenly gets lines in it and becomes unreadable. Not so bad if it's a defect that shows up early, and you just replace the camera. Anyone know if this problem happens only when fairly new(factory defective part), or if it can happen a year or two later, which again would be a disaster while traveling. I love my Canon and had assumed I would get another Canon, so I'm a bit apprehensive about switching brands but want the best camera for our needs and the ZS3 seemed very recommended. Really just looking for a big zoom, faster shot to shot than my current camera, and good image quality for enlargements up to 8x10 or 11x14 for an amateur photographer. I'm not that picky since I love the photos from my Canon 710, I just don't want something with lesser image quality or something that will bre