Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 29, 2010, 9:54 AM   #1

Default Canon A640 Upgrade

I currently own a Canon PowerShot A640 but find that I am missing out on some family photos for two reasons:

1) Flash goes off all the time and either saturates the photo or creates lots of shadows/dark backgrounds
2) Auto focus is too slow and I am missing the picture

Recently, we had some friends over who had a Nikon D5000 and they were able to capture all of the photos that we were missing. We were literally standing side-by-side trying to photograph our babies.

This led me to start looking at DSLR which of course opened Pandora's box.... <begin mad scientist music and muhwaaas in the background>

I am a novice when it comes to the cameras but I have played with the manual settings. It takes far too much time for me to figure out what will work right for a particular lighting and scene so I miss out on my kids/babies awesomeness. Plus, using the A640 in manully mode is not practical for my wife who just wants to have the camera figure out everything for itself. So a good, fast autofocus is a must.

I mostly take family photos (action and stills) and dabble in landscape/outdoor photography while on hikes or on vacation at the beach.

My budget is anywhere from free to $800-900. I could be talked into $1k if the camera made me "go blind from over-exposure to pure awesomeness!".

I do like the flip down/twist LCD on my A640, so having that in a new camera is a big plus.

In the DSLR and my price range, from Nikon it sounds like the D90 is a better choice than the D5000 even though it is older. And the Canon 550D is getting good reviews even though it's build quality and lens in the kit (and perhaps basic camera performance) is not as good as the Nikon's.

In the Micro 4/3, the Lumix G1(G2) and PEN E-PL2 sound like the leaders.

The P&S is so crowded I am not sure and am looking for help.

So here are my questions: