Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 30, 2010, 12:49 AM   #1

Default it must have neck strap lugs

Hi,

I have no photographic experience except with my little p & s, used occasionally. But I would like to do more. I find just using the wrist strap rather limiting in that I don't like holding the camera in one hand or having to fish it out of a case.

So I looked for a p & s with two lugs for a neck strap. Damned if I can find much at all. So I looked at bridge cameras, only to find that they have ginormous zooms I don't need. So I'm chewing over a second hand dslr.

Let me tell you what I want to do. I go to country houses, arboreta, stately homes, etc and want to record where I've been and what I've seen there. (I'm not very good at cataloging this, by the way). Ideally I'd like to be able to snap a full view of a mansion, take an effective photo of a huge tree in its grounds, then get a close up of its leaves and berries. Photos of the parkland around the houses would be included..

To complicate the matters further, I am not enamoured of lugging around a dslr with a great heavy lens attached. Could I do want I want with a dslr and a 50mm prime lens?

If you find this a bit confusing you ought to see inside my head.......

I'd appreciate help here greatly.

Tony
blister is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 30, 2010, 1:12 AM   #2
Super Moderator

Have you looked at Canon's G11. It is bigger than the point and shoots, but does not have the ginormous zoom of the bridge cameras. It has great control layout, and has a sensor that performs very well in low light for a small sensor camera. It will save you much bulk compared to a dslr and should do the type of work you want admirably. and it has a NECK STRAP

http://www.steves-digicams.com/camer...11-review.html
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2010, 6:43 AM   #3