Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 4, 2010, 9:15 AM   #1

Default Canon T2i or Canon 50D

Hi. I've been researching for a long time and have settled on a choice between these two cameras. I know there are lots of great choices out there from all sorts of manufacturers, but I'm going to pick one of these two. I would love advice about which one. I'm a novice now, but I plan to get to the point where I can make money with my camera. I would pick the T21 because of the price, but I really don't mind spending extra on the 50D if it's worth it for what I want to do. The video in the T2i is a bonus, but not very important. I need the photos to look good when they're enlarged. Also, I would like to know: when I get better and want to move up the Canon line, will the lenses I have collected for the 50D transfer? For the T2i? I plan to collect wide-angle and macro as well as the usual.
Tiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 4, 2010, 10:23 AM   #2

I was in this place several months ago. I ended up going with the T2i, but the decsion was influenced by my wifes direction. The 50D as a better Auto focus, has lens micro adjust capability and is a bigger camera. I like layout of the T2i better, but that is a personal preference. The T2i has a great sensor, but is limited in terms of frames per second. Both are great cameras! As far a lens go they both use the same selection of lens and unless you switch companies the lens will be upwardly mobile as you change bodies.
waoldrifleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 11:19 AM   #3
Super Moderator

well the good news is, you can't really go wrong with either camera, they both have some advantages.

the 50d will give you a more robust construction, micro adjust and faster fps and autofocus.

the t2i will give you video, a lighter smaller package, and slightly better image quality overall.